my parents// wedding anniversary

*songs to listen to while reading: Anything by artist Emily Hearn. More specifically: “Like Ships Need the Sea”*

***

My mom got remarried last year on June 27th. Their one year anniversary was yesterday and in typical ‘momma Laura’ fashion- it was a beautiful day. The wedding itself, was not one to forget. It didn’t just rain, or pour, it monsooned. And yes ‘monsooned’ isn’t a word, but the amount of rain that came down that day, was biblical. I’m talking Noah’s Ark level rain. There were four inches of water on the dance floor because yes- this was an outdoor wedding *yikes*. My brother and I walked down the ‘aisle’ barefoot in mid calf deep mud and straw (because of the flooding). My mom had two friends help her hold her dress up so it wouldn’t get covered in mud, and another to hold an umbrella. This wedding however was so sweet and beautiful and I am so happy for my mom. The wedding day was shot by DC based photographer Lissa Ryan. Lissa did an amazing job capturing the crazy wedding day my mom and stepdad had.

Today however, my mom basically set up a styled shoot to celebrate. We had dinner on the dock, complete with a picnic basket, table cloth and candles! And of course, it had to rain. Due to the weather I couldn’t capture everything I wanted, but I think these will do!

anniversary (3 of 69)anniversary (5 of 69)anniversary (16 of 69)anniversary (18 of 69)

I mean c’mon, don’t you just love that ring!?

anniversary (23 of 69)

Love this card by Sugarboo that I found in a boutique in Asheville.

anniversary (24 of 69)anniversary (26 of 69)

anniversary (47 of 69)

anniversary (31 of 69)anniversary (34 of 69)anniversary (37 of 69)anniversary (35 of 69)

anniversary (51 of 69)anniversary (58 of 69)

anniversary (64 of 69)

 

Contrary to tradition: this is not the original cake topper from a year ago. That topper unfortunately didn’t make it into the freezer on time, so our neighbor (who made the original wedding cake last year) so happily offered to remake a mini version for today! The original looked just like this, a lemon cake with buttercream and blueberries tucked into the frosting. Yum!

One Comment Add yours

  1. barb says:

    Lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

